A winning night for sporting champions

6 October 2022

A former professional footballer and England international handed out the silverware at this year’s Littlehampton Sports Awards.

Steve Hodge presented the winners with trophies and commendations at the Awards which took place on Tuesday 4 October. Kindly providing use of their premises and facilities throughout the process, the venue for Awards night was Vardar Restaurant.

An initiative managed by Littlehampton Sports Forum and the Town Council to recognise the achievements and contributions made by local sportspeople and off-pitch community champions, sports including football, tennis and badminton were represented, with the evening hosted by Vice-Chair of the Community Resources Committee, Councillor Freddie Tandy.

Speaking about the Awards, Councillor Tandy said: "It was brilliant to see so many different sports clubs and club representatives back together to celebrate each other's success. Not only do the sports stars themselves get the deserved recognition at the awards, but so do the off-pitch heroes who kept their respective clubs running throughout the pandemic. Congratulations to all our winners."


Sportsperson of the Year (Sponsored by the Littlehampton Times): Mitchell Hand and George Gaskin (Littlehampton Football Club)

Young Sportsperson of the Year (Sponsored by Littlehampton Traders' Partnership): Sophia Hendey (Life Saving and others)

Contribution to Youth Sports (Sponsored by Norfolk Bowls Club): Reece Nolan (Football)

Sports Administrator of the Year (Sponsored by Going Spare): Paul Cox (Football)

Coach of the Year (Sponsored by Walsh Pest Control): Stewart Lister (Tennis)

Sports Team of the Year (Sponsored by Mewsbrook Park Cafe): Littlehampton Town Football Club

Youth Sports Team of the Year (Sponsored by the Bond of Friendship Lodge No. 9117):  Team Wick Dynamos Inclusive

Contribution to Disabled Sport (Sponsored by FA Holland & Son): Andrew Dye (Football)

Unsung Hero (Sponsored by Mewsbrook Park Cafe): James Askew (Football and Cricket)

Mayor's Lifetime Contribution to Sport in Littlehampton: David Slade

Joint winner of this year’s Sports Person of the Year Award, footballer Mitchell Hand, said: “It has been a great year for the Littlehampton Football Club and we are honoured to have been recognised locally for our efforts” and “this award and the Sports Team Award are great accomplishments for the Club, thank you to the Sports Forum for the recognition” added fellow team member and joint award winner, George Gaskin.

Also announced at the event were the recipients of the 2022 Sports Excellence Grants. The Sports Forum this year awarded a total of £1,700. Shared between two sportspeople, the grants will enable them to progress in their sports and achieve their goals. This year’s beneficiaries are Isabel Moore (Shooter and 2021's Sportsperson of the Year) and Ashton Netherwood (Swimmer).